Fish Finder For Canoe

niagarangler89

I've been looking at the Lowrance X-4 series of fish finders. I was just wondering for those of you who've equipped your canoe (or kayak) with a fish finder, what is the best type of transducer to get?

Would a transom-mount one work for a canoe? I've read that anything sitting below the canoe will cause surface drag, affecting the dynamics of the canoe. I've also read they transom-mount transducers are more prone to collecting surface debris, which can be a pain in the butt. These don't seem like huge issues to me, but I have very little experience canoe fishing, so any input from someone more in the know would be appreciated.

There are also the portable X-4s, but they have the same issue with the transducer being below the canoe.

Another option would be a "shoot-through-the-hull" transducer-type finder. I have a glass canoe, so in theory it should work fine. The catch is that if any of the layers in the hull have air bubbles, it could have a negative effect on the quality of the image produced.

My preference would be the transom-mount Lowrance X-4. For 80 bucks and the great reviews, it seems like it's hard to go wrong. Just wanted to see what you guys thought before I made a purchase.

Thanks!

Edit: Also, what would be a good battery for a 14 foot canoe? I'd probably want something with more than enough juice for just the fish finder because I might eventually get a small electric trolling motor, but it can't be overly heavy either. Taking all that into consideration, I might just go with the portable FF for now. Still would appreciate any feedback!