Any Car Guys Here?

jordanl

initially i would take my car to my grandpa or my uncle since they are car guys, but since my move in kinda outta luck. since im a student on a tight budget i really dont have the money to take it to a shop to get examined so im wondering if i can get some help from you guys, i have a standard 2002 mazda protege5 hatchback, it has approx 215000 kms on it, lately its been having this issue where if im idling the rpms will jump around, it will go from the normal idle at about 1rpm then it will fall to .25rpm and almost stall then it will jump to 2 rpm to compensate for the drop and go back to the 1rpm idle, and it will do this as long as im sitting there, it also makes it kind of hard to go from an idle to moving in first, as im starting to move the rpms stil jump giving me an uneven pull out, but once i get it to second and moving it seems to be fine, im just wondering if there are some small things i can try myself to fix this problem just some trouble shooting ideas, thanks guys.

Do a google search for IAC valve. Its called the idle air control valve. They tend to stick or get dirty. Its a little plunger type valve on the manifold....either take it off and clean it with a tooth brush and some throttle body cleaner or replace it. Usually they just need cleaning. Hope this helps...

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthread.php?123797322-How-to-Clean-Air-Idle-Control-Valve

there should be a diagram under your hood, follow lines and look for cracks and or holes, other than that google is showing lots of possible issues and help, most common seems like IAC valve and vacuum lines. Hope this somewhat helps

Let it soak in throttlebody cleaner for a bit....then use the tooh brush. Apply a very thin coat of oil on the plunger shaft before you put it back on.

I'm having spacebar issues here.