Conservation Area Hunting

bwizb

Does anyone have any good experiences hunting in the conservation areas around here? I'm new to hunting and am looking for a spot to hunt locally. I see that the Niagara Conservation area's allow hunting deer and such, and was just wondering if it is worth it to hunt there. I was going to apply for the blind lottery for the begining of duck season as well. Any information/tips/help for a new hunter would be much appreciated.

• 3 weeks later...

I've been lurking around this forum for a long time and am happy to finally have something to contribute.

Last year was my first season hunting I and got out to NPCA properties about a dozen times. I went after waterfowl and small game, and was successful for both. The properties can be busy, especially the first couple weeks of the season but usage slowed down as the season progressed. Based on my work schedule I was able to get out some weeknights and several times had the properties to myself.

Fortunately I was able to join a group in Haldimand County for the controlled deer hunt and didn't try the NPCA properties. I have a hunch that during the 2 weeks of the controlled hunt it would be really busy. I did see signs of deer hunters during the archery season but don't have any personal experience.

The other guys I talked to at the access points were always courteous, and most days I hunted I would see the same trucks. But as with all public land it can be pretty dirty. Lots of shells, Tims cups, water bottles etc., I carried out more garbage this year than game, but I was successful.

Lately the group of guys I have been hunting with have helped me secure private land, but I look forward to heading to the NPCA properties this fall. Please feel free to PM me for more info, or if you are interested in hooking up for a hunt!

I've been lurking around this forum for a long time and am happy to finally have something to contribute.