Recommend A Good Outfit For A "fly Noob"

Bow Man

Just looking for suggestions on some good outfits for a noob, looking for a 9' 6 weight combo. Since it is my first/learning rod was looking to spend $250-$275.00. Open to all input and feedback.

Cheers

That's a good amount of cash to spend on a 6 weight beginners outfit. Redington has some great stuff (my first 5 weight was from them, the cross water set up it was called) for a really reasonable price. The rod was light, great action and came with a good plastic reel that had a very smooth drag. I still use the reel actually. Check it out.

One suggestion you might want to concider is a primer lesson. That will give you as you suggest a beginner an opportunity to try out a few setups and get a good understanding of what suits you best. Thats just something based on my own personal experience as a beginner myself. Having said that, your budget will easily find you a nice used combo...which is the way i would go vs buying new.

The lesson idea is a good one. I see more people give up the sport because they find it too difficult, when an hour with a good instructor could have turned them into addicts. Try Grindstone Angling in Waterdown (just north of Hamilton) where they can advise on gear, including used stuff they have on trade-ins and new entry level outfits. Their instruction is also top-notch, though it costs. Another option is to get in touch with the Niagara Chapter of Trout Unlimited Canada, which offers free casting instruction and on-water practice for new members. This would also put you in touch with other fly fishers, most of whom are very willing to provide advice and instruction, places to fish, even lend or sell surplus gear. Whatever you do, I strongly recommend that you get advice from experienced fly fishers before spending your money. Your budget is good, but don't be fooled into cheap gear, especially the rod (save money on the reel if you need to, but get a decent rod).... and enjoy!