New To Fly Fishing Need Tips

gtgf

Well I'm new to this kind of fishing and I was wondering if you guys can tell some tips on casting and fighting fish etc... I am also looking for a new combo just a begginer one. I can cast but it's very sloppy not sure if the fly should hit the water when I'm in the middle of the cast or anything like that. Thanks gtgf

Well I'm new to this kind of fishing and I was wondering if you guys can tell some tips on casting and fighting fish etc... I am also looking for a new combo just a begginer one. I can cast but it's very sloppy not sure if the fly should hit the water when I'm in the middle of the cast or anything like that. Thanks gtgf

Your best money spent will be lessons or join a fly group with other fly fishers. Nobody can tell you over a keyboard what your doing right or wrong. One thing for sure is that if you are doing something wrong you could be wearing a hook in you face or worse an eye. If your still set on teaching yourself through videos or online tutorials take the hook off and tie on a piece of yarn. There is many places not knowing your location that could better assist you. You want to learn the right way....not anyone elses mistakes. If you need anymore help id be glad to point you in the right directions.

This past summer I got a casting lesson from Basil of the Trout Unlimited Niagara Chapter. I suggest getting involved with them if you can. Great bunch of guys and girls that really know their stuff. Plus you can help them with stream work and all kinds of volunteer stuff. This leads to a greater appreciation for nature too, which is a great bonus.

• 1 month later...