New Rod

master-baiter

I didn't really get into the baitcasting too much but I'm pretty sure you would want a reel around 7.1-1 ratio to get those fish out of heavy cover quick. Med/heavy-heavy rod to help pull the fish out of weeds with out snapping the rod and a fast action tip. Also heavy line maybe 30lb braid to cut the weeds when ripping the fish out and not snapping the line. And somewhere around a 8' rod.(heavy cover set up) I'm not a professional with flipping worms n tubes (I like top water for bass) but that's what I think. see what other more experienced ppl think also. Good luck

Tyler has got it nailed down. I use an Okuma EVx-C-751MHa, 7'5" Med-Heavy/Fast for flipping, although I think I would prefer a little shorter rod.

One thing I would recommend, is stay with a spinning rod for Senkos. Way easier to control, cast and skip. Not too many guys throw senkos on casting gear...just the brave ones!

Some reel companies offer an 8:1 (13 Fishing Concept "A" and others) and a 9:1 (Abu Garcia Revo Rocket) Make sure the reel is super small (Shimano Chronarch 50e or any of the Lew's) so it fits in your hand comfortable. It will greatly improve casting accuracy as well as reduce fatigue.

Learn how to setup the casting reel and you won't ever go back to spinning gear for flippin'!

I'm going to have to disagree with Tyler and josh on the size of the rod. An 8' rod is not needed for a shore fisherman or even a boater. The size of the rod is dependent on the size of the person. If your 5'9" a 8' rod is far to long. The average person is around 6' so I would recommend a rod that 7 to 7'3" medium heavy is perfect also you can use that rod for not just flipping or punching but throwing Texas and Carolina rigs as well as spinner baits.

I'm 6'5", a "tall bastard" as josh puts it and unless I'm using weights over 1oz for flipping worms jigs my rod is a 7'3" medium heavy 13 fishing envy. I'll use up to a 5/8 oz weight