Anybody Home?

Tom S

Dead quiet here lately.

Anybody up to anything?

July/August were just crazy for me between personal things and work. Got out a couple of times to local ponds and a bit at the cottage, but not much action. Nights have all been booked up, so no fly tying or rod building. Things are finally slowing down now.

Booked some casting lessons for later this month. Hoping to get rid of some bad habits I taught myself. Spey Clave next month, thinking more and more about picking up a long rod. Maybe I'll win one in the raffle...

Looking forward to trying for some steelhead once it cools down for good. Grew a neckwarmer over the last couple of months to keep me toasty in the cold.

Someone has to be up to something....

Been to hot and humid to fish and have been busy doing what i do for a living. Rods and flytying and the steelhead season hasn't even started yet. Would love to hear some fishing reports.

I've ventured out twice recently. The water was warm enough to make tea but there wasn't enough in the stream to fill the teapot. No fish but got to try out some of my furled leaders with the 4 wgt. I'm thinking I like them.

No Spey Clave for me (daughter's birthday weekend). Hope you find a long rod you like. I love my St Croix Imperial. Price was right and it casts really well.

Cliff, do you or have you made any spey rods? One day when I am solvent again I'd love to add a 6 wgt spey rod to my collection.

Hint! HInt!

Salmon fishing started at the east since Aug 10, a mini run. still somewhat slow and no pattern could be establish, everyone waiting for the upcoming rain, and it will be a zoo by next week. Anglers as far from Ottawa, Montreal, peterborough, etc... were going and trying their luck. I pity them from having to travel so far, and gotten skunk , some stayed and rented hotel costing $120 per night for a week, and no fish, since no pattern was established as of yet.