New to Fly Fishing - Looking to Learn

norestnorust

I am in my forties and for years have been very interested in learning how to fish, specifically, on the fly.  I have been hesitant to get out there, because as a beginner, I have been a bit intimidated - - as most folks my age have been at it for decades. I've been reading loads and watching countless videos, hoping to get myself more familiar with the sport.  I finally decided that it was time to stop talking about it and get started.  I took my first fly-tying class up at Drift Outfitters on Queen East in Toronto (wonderful crew of folks up there!) and have joined the forum to learn more about what is available locally (I'm in St. Catharines).  I am looking forward to everything the forum has to offer and even more keen to get my tail out on the water.  

Any thoughts on what is the best set-up to get started?  A heavier combo for the steelhead season or a lighter, more adaptable one for everything else? I am sure that in time I will have multiple rods and reels, but looking to get my feet wet, so to speak, and would be very appreciative of any advice.

Thank you,

Colin