Spooled ?

smerchly

I've been fishing for 65+ years and have never been "spooled" .  But I came very close to it yesterday . I  knew I had something extremely heavy , hugging the bottom and moving at a steady walking pace . I was running out of my 10 lb. mono line and had to hike it for about 200 yards . The fish wasn't giving an inch ....like I hooked submarine !  Finally , with only 8-10' of line left on the spool I wrapped the line around my hand and held steady , until ...POP...the line went limp ....hook was bent but still intact !  Don't know what it was but I suspect it was a big ol' sturg. !  That is the closest I have ever come to losing all my line . I was using a worm / spinner combo....next trip....heavier rod & reel !

I suspect some of you guys/gals may have been spooled by salmon or musky or a big lake carp !  ....any volunteers ? 

I dunno Smerch.  I'd say when you get down to the last few yards and you wrap the line around your hand, you've been spooled!  lol

That's a thrilling thing to have happen.  Too bad you never got to see it, but this way, the story is even more interesting!

Ya Tom , I may have snagged it on the belly or chin . I visited Peters today to get a few spinner blades,  hooks & weights ....will set up my heavier rod & 4000 Stradic for my next outing . Any large fish in current requires stronger gear when they want to head out to Toronto .

Mike ,  I wouldn't try wrapping the line around my hand when using 20# braid or mono . ....maybe around the back of the reel or tighten the drag .

Good crowd down there today ....forgot it was the Kids Derby !  

3 hours ago, DNorton said:

Just was in Peters today and loaded up on some carp gear for hopefully a good outing today. 

I noticed a good supply of carp rods while I was checking out the bait runner reels with larger spools  . ...looks like most reel makers these days don't include a second spool . It 's handy to have in case you get SPOOLED !   lol