Ice Fishing Dunnville or PM Area

Rondeau Joe

55 minutes ago, Rondeau Joe said:

I'm coming down to Dunnville for some ice fishing ( or soft water if the temps suck) Jan 2nd. Anyone have any advise for where to set up?

Thinking if it's soft water I may try the pier at Port Maitland and long pole it.

You mean February 2nd?

Unfortunately I have no experience of the area at all sorry mate. 

4 minutes ago, fredfisher said:

It’s about 4-5 km down river from the dam in dunnville. They might charge you to park at the bait shop.

They for sure charge for parking. 

17 hours ago, Rondeau Joe said:

I'm ok with that as long as it's not a stupid amount.

I believe it's $5 or $10 to park and 5 for minnows. 

Went out yesterday fished at the dam from 3 -7 marked fish but could not get them to take. Skunked again. 

I was out from 7am-Noon straight out from the trailers at FM. Was in 15' on the south side and marked tons of fish but not even a nibble. I was able to count 62 huts from the dam down to VP's at one point in the morning. From the looks of it about half the people split around noon and I heard about 5 fish that were caught so it wasn't just me I guess. There has been massive fishing pressure there lately.

My times matched yours Corey but we were about 500 yards north of you. No hits for us or anyone around us today.

I agree too much pressure on the fish with that many out there. Saturday was even heavier than today. I've never seen so many huts in one place like Saturday.

3 hours ago, corey said:

There has been massive fishing pressure there lately

1 hour ago, Rondeau Joe said:

I've never seen so many huts in one place like Saturday.

Lots of people fishing today .  We have pop-up huts , heaters , electronics ,  power augers and better fishing gear .