Dils lake/ Chippawa Conservation

fishhatemybait

Hello All,

After some persuasive advice from a few members about Dils, my son and I

will be camping and fishing at Chippawa Creek. What I am lookig for is what I should be using

and how to use it to catch a few. I am a bit of a newbie to most techniques out side of bait and bobber

so any tips would be great.

Thanks

Chris

well i have been fishing chippawa creek for as long as i can remember and i always use crank baits and jerk baits in a perch or rainbow trout design any dull colors nothing too bright works well. just cast and reel throw a couple jerking motions in there this works pretty well for me. hope this helps and hope you and your son have a good time.

agree with bassman my friend had luck on spinners and top water's for the bass and i got a few on top water's, frog color seems to work alot

If you are fishing at dils? you will need some weedless baits if you are targeting the largies. Get yourself a pack of 3 or 4/0 worm hooks and a 5 or 6/0 worm hook. Get a couple packs of berkley powerbait 4 inch craws 1 in black/blue , and 1 in black/chartreuse, you could also try the white ones but those two colours produce. Than get yourself either/or a pack of 7/10 inch worms in black or purple. You will also need at least a 3/8 ounce bullet sinker and a few toothpicks for pegging it. you should be ok with minimum 14 lb test there although i recommend no less than 17 lb but it should be on a baitcaster med/heavy rod. here is a link for texas rigging http://www.catcherman.com/features/rigging...0602sportmn.htm

You can also fish outside the weedlines or over top the weeds if not on the surface with senkos, spinnerbaits/buzzbaits/topwaters etc on a spinning rod if need be.