salmon eggs preparing roe bags/curing eggs

Erik.T.

I was at school today and in Art class a kid gave me about 500 or more frozen salmon eggs in a tofu container for free. His parents didn't want them to go to waste as they are not fishermen nor were they going to eat the eggs, apparently they were a gift from their neighbor.

The eggs were thawing out in my locker (the teachers wouldn't let me use their fridge) and now the eggs are finishing thawing out in my fridge. School does really pay off!

I have very little experience with preparing roe bags or curing salmon eggs. A google search showed two options from a page called "preserving fish eggs for caviar and bait". This is the bait preserving part.

So which method do i use?

PRESERVING EGG CLUSTERS

West Coast winter steelhead fishermen commonly use powdered borax on salmon eggs to tough- en them, preserve their appearance, and prevent the growth of bacteria. The toughened clusters stay on the hook longer than fresh ones.

Preparation of boraxed eggs is simple. It takes very little time to prepare soft or medium-soft clusters that crush easily in the water and readily “milk" (give off odors).

1. Spread out a large sheet of paper, and cover it with a thin layer of borax.

2. Either cut the skeins of eggs into bait-size pieces with scissors, or pull them apart with your fingers along the natural connective tissue cleavage lines. Use a sharp pair of scissors to snip off pieces from the dangling end of a skein.

3. Place egg clusters on the borax-covered paper. Thoroughly dust clusters with additional borax, and let them stand in a cool, dry place for 12 to 36 hours.

4. After the clusters have reached the desired firmness, pack them in wide-mouth jars with airtight seals for storage. Cluster egg bait may be refrigerated for a few weeks or frozen in jars for longer storage times.