Steelhead Newbie

The_Husky_Jerk

Hey guys, just need a little help here. I am VERY new to steelhead and trout fishing. I have been fishing whitemans creek (erie trib) and having some success for small rainbows. Its fun, and delicious lol but i seem to be more and more intrigued by the infamous "STEELHEAD". I have been to the whirlpool once last year (with no luck), and i was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice. What is the best time of year for steelhead? I know that the fall and winter is the best, but it confuses me because trout season ends september 30th. What kind of tackle should I be using? Is using roe on a spinning combo the best/easiest option? I have a 5wt entry-level fly rod that im trying to figure out (doing very poorly and getting discouraged) but from what I read that is definitely too small. Can anyone take a minute to give me a quick, brief tutorial on Steelhead? Im about an hour and a half away from the Niagara River in Brantford and dont want to waste another trip by getting skunked :wall:

PLEASE HEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

well if you read your regs right trout season is open all year in certain areas such as the pool and port d and yes fall and winter are the best times of the year to fish them for bait roe usually is whats used on a 3 way swivel with a bottom bouncing weight, I don't do a lot of steelhead fishing but might try a bit more this year hope this helps

I use 10+ for longer cast.... and not to overkill the fish also for better contoll of the fish.

When every one is doing long cast bottom bouncing u do not wanna go in middle of them and start doing short cast also..... u will make alot people angry lol