Fishing And Boating On Erie?

AC/DC

Hi Everyone!

I have recently bought a boat and have been out on Erie a few times now. I know that Erie is known to be unforgiving at times and I am kind of leery to venture out too far but would like to get out far enough to get some Walleye. I have no experience boating on Erie and I am not sure what this boat can handle. I have a 17 ft with a 50HP. The only time I have successfully went a few miles out was when it was about 7km/hour winds. I launched in Crystal beach yesterday and with was 17km/per hour winds and it seemed quite rough so I turned around. I am wondering if my boat is too small to go out in those conditions? Anyone with boating experience that can offer up some advice, it would be greatly appreciated. I know I have a lot to learn and I want to make sure that I am boating safely for myself and other boaters out there as well.

Thank You

AC/DC

Your boat is only as good as the operator no matter which size. 17 kph winds from the south or west would be too rough for me in a 17' boat. If you don't feel comfortable in the conditions don't go out.

Guest live2fish85

As captnn said, mind you the boat size does matter to a certain point, certain boats will handle better in rough weather.

Is your boat a deep v? That can make a big difference in handling chop. I wouldn't recomend going out that far if the winds are over 15kmp from the S or SW. It doesn't take long to get real bad out there, Erie also isn't like Lake Ontario. The waves when they are bad will hit you from all directions and real quick sets. If you aren't comfortable in a wind that is blowing 17kmh I wouldn't go out to far until you have had some experience with someone that can show you how to handle the water when it does get bad.

I have been boating on Erie my entire life. I was lucky to have my grandfather teach me how to properly handle rough waters.