New to fly fishing ish...

zzzy

So I bought myself a fly fishing outfit about a month ago and I have been mainly hitting Lake Gibson for panfish with a dry fly. I have never caught a  fish with any other kind of fly but I have them. I have some wooly buggers and random flies that I don't know the name of. I want to start catching bass in the grand river but I don't know where to go and fish for bass there and what flies I should be using there. I have a 5wt 9ft rod and I also have waders so going in the water is no problem to me. I was thinking to go by the Belwood Lake Conservation Area below the dam and fish but I have no idea if that is a good idea. any help would be greatly appreciated. I am also a complete newbie so any tips are appreciated as well.

Pick up a copy of "Fishing Ontario’s Grand River Country" https://www.amazon.ca/Fishing-Ontarios-Grand-River-Country/dp/1552774686  it's a great book with tons of information. I like the stretch between Paris and Brantford for Smallmouth, but they are prety much every where once you get below the brown trout section around Elora. https://www.grandriver.ca/en/outdoor-recreation/resources/Documents/FishingTheGrand-2015.pdf .

Crayfish patterns and dark coloured wooly buggers work well, you can always add split shot 6-12" above your fly to help it get down in the deeper holes.