Carport

Tyler0420

I cut this guys grass and this summer he asked me to build him a carport. I said “I have no experience doing this and have never built anything before”. He said “you’re a roofer you should be able to do it”. Lol I said “roofing and framing have nothing todo with each other but sure I’ll try it”. I said “it probably won’t be perfect but it should be pretty good.”

I have no experience doing this type of stuff but I work in new construction and watch people build stuff all day. I knew I could probably get it done and kinda wanted to push myself. 

digging the posts holes was an absolute nightmare.  (using 1 man auger) took around 11hrs to dig 8 10” holes 48”deep. 
it was rock after rock after boulder. I almost gave up right then and there. I don’t think I’ll ever drill another hole again unless it’s in ice, I’ll get it contracted out. 

the rest of it went up pretty good but not having the right tools (mostly good batteries) it took longer then I wanted it to.  I was also working my regular job then doing this in my free time hence why I haven’t posted any fishing reports but now it’s finally done and hopefully fishing very soon. 

Spring time it will get painted or metal depends what the guy decides. 79CD8187-10E2-47CB-8DCA-78E74F117863.jpegF070F07D-8080-4182-BB39-56CC02F8648D.jpeg4E7BF228-AF05-4222-985E-0A536A8F4A19.jpeg96953C41-07D2-4D9A-B2CC-2CB295EE0497.jpeg6700DE23-EE85-4D22-B6A7-F6F024427587.jpegC911E3A5-5D35-4D00-813B-C4B7A7F054CF.jpeg

That looks like a very nice job Tyler, you should be proud. You only learn by doing. In my day I built dozens of decks and fences and am well acquainted with the "one man auger". It's a one man as long as you're King Kong

Very nice work Tyler!!