Fall Fishing

Ants_12

Hello All! My name is Anthony and I'll be attending my first year at Brock University in St. Catherines. I was surfing the net when I came across this site and I think it is just an awesome communication board and site. I'm originally from Huntsville, Muskoka and I have fished all over central, and Northern Ontario. I have been fly-fishing for the past 7 years and was wondering if anyone could help me or direct me to some close by rivers that offer good fall slamon and/or spring trout fly-fishing or float fishing.

Guest bigfish1965

Luckily you are moving to the best fall fishing area in the province. Whatever you are after, there are trophies here each fall.

St Catharines is in the heart of some fantastic salmon and trout fishing. AS well trophy bass, walleye and musky are to be had in the Niagara River.

There really are just so many places to mention that you couldn't list them all.

I will suggest starting at the Whirlpool just because it is the most fun place to catch a fish.

Thanks bigfish1965, It's good to hear the fall fishing is strong, that alone gives me a lot more to look forward to moving into St. Catherine's. I did come across the map posted with direction to the whirlpool, and it definitely looks like a sweet spot. I'm also wondering about 12 mile creek which runs through St. Catherine's, it looks like a strong river any good spots along it??

12 mile creek, nope.... the fish can't get up the falls at Port Dalhousie, however you can fish at port dalhousie for trout/salmon....

The onld welland canal is another place to fish.... see the "pike in port dalhousie" thread (i think that's the name of it, it has 5 pages of posts in it- the directions are there, if you want i have a map i can send you of how to get there aswell)...