Grasshoppers

Dogman

I went out last night for a couple hours down to Chippawa Creek just before dark. I started tossing a foam hopper pattern that I tied up and the bass were going nuts. Almost every cast it was getting blown up on. I tied it on too small of a hook so I didn't manage to catch anything but damn it's fun seeing those buggers hammer a hopper. I'll be tying some more up tonight with a 2 or 4 hook.

I was using a green craft foam pattern about three-quarters of an inch long with brownish sili-legs.

Would not mind seeing a picture of what you describe? You tie them yourself you said?

hopperi.jpgNo problem

It is just a foam crease fly that I tried to make look like a hopper. Not the best work I'm sure but I'm still learning.

Very nice. I used a grasshopper fly up north a few weeks back and hammered the smallies. Its awesome seeing the bass break the surface with your fly in its mouth. And I can gaurantee if you tie it yourself it makes you that more proud.

So true Horrorshowrot. Got my first tonight. A couple people have asked how to tie this. So I'll try my best.

You need some 3mm craft foam. I got mine at Michael's. Sili-legs or other rubber-esque legs. #4 or 6 streamer hook.

Start by putting a good base thread wrap on the hook. Cut the foam a little longer than the hook and about twice as wide as you want the fly to be. Put a little super glue on the bottom of the foam and fold it over the hook shank. Press it tight and hold for a few seconds until it sets. Take 2 sili-legs and tie them in a knot at each end leaving about 1/2" out each end. Tie in the knotted legs on the back then single legs for the middle and front. Whip finish and color in eyes and stuff with a marker if you like. Trim the foam into shape with scissors and/or and emery board. I also put a little flexible adhesive to make it shiny.