Switch Rod Questions...

DaveC

Hi guys...so ok this is what I have right now. I have the St Crois imperial eight weight 11.0ft Rod. The reel I have is the Orvis Battenkill mid arbour. The reel is already lined with backing and the guy gave me some line that is spooled on an old line holder...not original so I dont know what it is. All I know is its kind of a light chartruse colour and it says written in pen WF weight forward I presume. So I plan to have the rod lined properly for steelhead fishing and maybe some pike fishing in the speed river to practice on...lol. All the line has loops at the end including the backing. So, What else am I going to need for leaders and such? Please keep in mind I have zero experience when it comes to fly fishing...I know there is dif types of sink tips ( if thats what Im thnking ) one guy I spoke with on the river had like dif lengths as well. What leaders and all that jazz....lol. Im going to just buy some flys that are proven to work like some intruders and that...I can always practice on that stuff later. Right now I just want to be able to be setup and ready to fish with the right lines...leaders...sink tips....and flys. I will work on the casting and catching part first. The other stuff later on. Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks,guys

The line that came with the reel is probably not a spey line, but that doesn't mean you can't use it.

I'd look for a skagit line in the 600 grain range (Rio makes good lines). You will also need a selection of heads (look at Rio again).

I like braided leaders myself, which you can find in better shops or on-line. For your loop-to-loop connections, make sure you're using a good double surgeon's knot or a whipped loop. On permanent loops, seal the knot or whipping whith epoxy, superglue or silicone.

There are several excellent Youtube videos on these subjects that will help make sense of it all.