Brand New Carp Fisherman

Lex

Well as the topic states I'm brand new to this species, there's only one problem I have with it so far. What the heck did I wait so long for? I am loving these fish, it's pretty easy to see why they're so sought after in the UK. I think I was pretty much addicted after the first fish. I've been fishing out of Wellandport on the Welland River, I chum the area with frozen corn and then I use the honey flavoured corn for carp on a hair rig and have had pretty good success. Here's the funny thing, I brought my daughter out tonight (who is 10) and she put me to shame. I set her up with a pretty basic set up egg style slip sinker and a hook loaded with corn (no hair rig). She caught three fish, first one she broke off, my fault I had the drag too tight, second one she landed after a great fight maybe 8-10lbs and the third one she landed, a little smaller then the first but still a great fight. The only one I caught came off at the net. I'm really happy for her though,what a great time she had.

Here I've been doing all this research and checking out different strategies to catch carp, not to mention i'm using the hair rigs and she's nailing them on a simple hook set up. Figures, just wondering if any of the veteran carp fisherman have any input on the hair rig vs good old fashioned hook and corn method. Also seems with the hair rig they have a tendency to carry the bait then spit it out whereas she was getting hard strikes pretty much every time. Just curious what the feedback might be. Either way I'm hooked (pardon the pun) these fish are fantastic, can't wait to get out there again. Please any feedback would be really appreciated.

First of all welcome to the madness and congratulations to your little girl on her first carp. Well done dad. :)