My First Attempt At Tying My Own Fly's

Seanook

Here are a few flies I tied yesterday. This is my first attempt and I am pretty pleased with the results. Think they should catch some fish....We shall see.

The Bellwood Caddis Nymph.

2013-03-17101425.jpg

Gartsides Maribou Minnow

2013-03-17100100.jpg

My self tied collection, so far

Includes (excluding the above) Puke Fly's, Dog Nobblers, Cat's whisker, Nuclear Eggs, Baby Dolls, Black Gnats and Thread Midges.

2013-03-17095859.jpg

great start....you like the white huh?? lol. I know all to well....its alot about the materials. I thought I had too much materials already, but never have what I need to tye a specific fly. Im going to start making a material list for the the flys Im most interested in learning. Good start though for sure.

Thanks Dave. The only reason I stopped was because I ran out of materials. Went straight out this morning and grabbed about 40 bucks worth of supplies, got home and realized that I forgot to buy more #8 hooks and zap-a gap!

Great start, Seanook! Blair is right on with the roadkill comment. Household pets too: just clean out the brush after using and you have great dubbing material. Don't forget the craft section of the dollar store where you can find foam, yarn, embroidery floss and sometimes feathers.

Don't sweat the colours too much. Very often its the suggestion of life and not the appearance of something that actually exists that counts. I caught the pike in my profile pic with a bright orange Zonker: not too many bright orange fish around here!

Don't forget to forage from the occasional ROAD KILL! (Materials)

lol

Nice work, for your first time.

Bet your creations entice some fish for sure.

Well done

Blair,

You are about the 10th person to suggest the roadkill materials route. LMAO!

I think I might just stick with the store bought treated skin and fur materials.