shrooms and puffballs

hugelaker

hey guys

i noticed there was a topic on the conservation secton about shrooms and puffballs it wouldent let me reply to the topic so i started a new one.

i am a chef and at the restaurant i work at these kind of wild mushrooms are a staple on our menus, ive always wondered if there were places around here to find mushrooms for home cooking. it looks like there are, i have found many types of oyster mushrooms, field mushrooms, and other variaties in places like happy raulphs and the gourge. i am excited to see that there are puffballs in the area and will have to get out and explore on my own soon.

anyways i noticed smerch was looking for some recipies, i have endless ideas / recipies from home cooking style to some fancy stuff that would impress some friends at a dinner party. feal free to pm me anytime i would be happy to help anybody on tips for cooking wild edables and shrooms. the key is to treat each different mushroom as its own gem, they all need different cooking times, and cooking styles. theres nothing cooler than coming across wild edibles and injoying the flavors of nature at home..

-matt

I have on a few occasions picked some wild shaggy mane mushrooms. They grow on my lawn all the time. I have noticed they are all over the place right now. It must be the right time of year.

The thing i like about this mushroom is that there is no mistaking it. It has such a distinct look to it. You must prepare them the day you pick them, preferably within a few hours of picking.

Here is a pic.

copr1.jpg

If you want to go on a mushroom hunt i am always looking for something to get me out of the house.