Match The Hatch?

The_Husky_Jerk

Hi guys,

Im very new to fly fishing and only been out a handful of times. Ive been a little frustrated with my lack of technique, but I know that will come with time. And when I get off my wallet and invest in some decent fly line (not the 14.99 stuff).

My question to all the all-knowing, seasoned veterans :worthy:

I understand the concept of "Match the Hatch" but have little to no knowledge of what insects are the best to replicate at any given time of year. Would you guys be able to give me some insight on what kind of flies would be best for this time of year? I usually go to Bean Park in Paris, and fish the Grand. Hoping too hook into my first Steelhead on the fly.

Thanks!

Cheers.

The first hatch is the hendricksons... Use nymphs in the day then emerger patterns mid day.. Dry flies after supper..

But if your fishing steelies go with streamer patterns .. steelies like the minnow baits more than they would fly hatches..

Whitemans isnt the stream it used to be... in my opinion anyway. Got 1 rainbow (2lber) out of there last year. Thats about it. I see lots of guys down there, havent personally seen much caught. Ive been sticking to the grand as of late. Im actually heading down to Caledonia tomorrow morning, to try out the streamer approach guys were suggesting. So I just set up a bobber, weights going down, then streamer?

Whitemans isnt the stream it used to be... in my opinion anyway. Got 1 rainbow (2lber) out of there last year. Thats about it. I see lots of guys down there, havent personally seen much caught. Ive been sticking to the grand as of late. Im actually heading down to Caledonia tomorrow morning, to try out the streamer approach guys were suggesting. So I just set up a bobber, weights going down, then streamer?

yes sir.. once in a while tug it a bit to jerk the streamer as it was an injured bait fish.. works for me ;-)