Salmon Rod?

Jason15

With the salmon season approaching should I look into a salmon rod or will my 6'6" medium rod do? I have never fished for salmon and would like to start this season!

It definitely wouldn't hurt to look for something but if you have a smooth drag it should be good. Might be harder to cast far and you won't have the leverage advantage, but I'm no expert lol

Depends on what type of fishing you plan to do for them. Throwing lures/spoons, I would go with an 8-8.5 foot med to med-heavy rod. The rod acts as a shock absorber to lessen break-offs, bottom bouncing, I would go with a 9.5-10.5 med rod. for float fishing, I would go with a 12+ med-light to med (8-17lb). I'm not saying that you can't catch salmon with your present setup, people do all the time, but the longer rods give you a better chance of landing the fish. IMO ...

I had a ridiculously tough time finding the perfect rod, you need to look at many options. To my great surprise, even a monster like Bass Pro didn't make it easy... apparently they have never heard of people fishing off piers for migratories, needing a very long rod, with backbone, to hurl a 3/4 oz cleo a country mile. Perhaps such gear is more available in the coastal states, where surf fishing is major. Very frustrating, store after store they had no clue of what I was after in a pier rod.

I'd suggest going with what you have, then upgrading if you actually catch fish, and find it inadequate. Save your money for gas and fresh mono. You might go ten times and never catch a salmon. I did.