Ice Pike

Seanook

So this is my first season not using an outfitter on the ice. We've found the Perch successfully and our bellies are full. What is kind of new and a mystery to me is how to get onto those big winter Pike. I would imagine that they probably follow the perch and other baitfish around pretty closely.

My question is this.....What to use and what is my target depth?

I imagine cut bait would be the best but I have little to no experience with using it. What is the best way to rig it, prepare it and present it?

Any advice is appreciated.

Lol.

One my by biggest problems with this subject is bad or contradictory info. For example. I was reading an article recently where a longtime hard ice vet was talking about using cut bait and specifically said that he would use Cisco's or whitefish and not Sucker on Simcoe as there aren't enough suckers in Simcoe for Pike to identify as food.......Huh? I have never heard of a Pike turning down a big sucker regardless of the region and Cisco's are a protected species on Simcoe in winter and targeting them is a big no no let alone using them for bait. I dunno when he said this or when winter the ban took effect. I'm definitely a little annoyed at the sketchy nature of the info and the publishers brain fart for not identifying the contradictory nature of it. Anyhow. I figured that this was the best place to ask for some insight, and clear advice.