Rigging Diagrams

Bryan

I have always had trouble setting up rigs for fishing.

I am new to fishing and am thinking of going to port/Martindale pond this weekend and trying my luck.

any advice for a beginner? really just want to catch anything, pan fish, pike (if thats possible)

also if anyone knows a good website that has rigging diagrams? and or what types of lures or bait to use?

Hey Bryan,

I haven't fished Port or Martindale too much, but have an idea of the rigs some of the guys use.

For panfish: Ultralight or light rod and reel, 6lb mainline (probably mono), fixed float, shot, barrel swivel, 2-4lb fluoro lead (1-4 feet, depending on water conditions), and a small octopus hook tipped with a minnow (you could also use small jigs and soft plastics for bait). Fix your float to the depth you want to fish (so let's say you're fishing 6 FOW, I'd run 3ft of lead and fix my float 3 feet above the swivel with enough shot below your float on the mainline to Male Appendage your float).

For pike: Ditch the ultralight and go with a medium power rod with a fast tip, up the poundage of your mainline/leader and size of your hook (12-15lb mainline, mono or braid and a 10-15lb fluoro lead). When fishing for pike you want a fairly strong lead due to their sharp teeth. You can also try tossing some spoons, or jointed-minnow lures for pike (I'd use minimum 15lb main and close to 15lb lead so you don't lose those expensive lures when hung up). Some of the other guys from the area might have better suggestions, but that should be a good rig to get you started! If you have any other questions, shoot me a PM. Good luck and look forward to hearing your report!

Steve

hey thanx Steve, I will try these ideas out.

If i go to Pete's to buy the right rigging equipment will they show me how to tie this stuff in the right order so i dont screw up my line?

I know how to tie for Lures, but when it comes to hooks and sinkers and a bobber, im lost...