Hens Vs Bucks

YakFisher

I noticed today that so far I have only caught female trout in the Niagara. I am very new to cold water fishing and have only caught about 10 or so, but they have all been hens. I am curious why that might be. are they more plentiful, more aggressive, or is it just a coincidence?

Both males and females eat duringbthis time in the run but females tend to be more food eager as they must keep up their strength as producing eggs is hard on their bodies. Males are to busy fighting for good beds. Butbas the year goes the females willbthen be laying their eggs and males protecting so any other eggs that come near thier bed they will hit. And you will start getting into males then.

I agree....centerpinassassin and i fished together and all we were catching was hens....afrer going back 2weeks later all everyone was catching was males. I have to believe the hens arrive first with the males closely behind them. I have found from personal experience the males seem to hit very aggressively when they show up. Expect your next or future outings after the hens to be more males. And when the hens are spewing eggs expect the steelhead bite to really pick up...which has been evident these last couple weeks. The bite will switch to minnow pattern as it gets further on into the season. These have always been my observations. Last years brown bite started rreally heavy first week nov....this year seems has been about 3 weeks later. If you study it all and keep track its usually pretty predictable. Having said that sometimes there is just no bite....and conditions look perfect....these are the times when so many things could be going on. I think just observations sometimes is keu or a change in presentation or offering makes all the differance. I have had many days of crap man....whats going on? Only to come across some guy nailing them on something totally unusual. I never stop learning....and i have been fishing for decades.