Work From Last Fall...(I Fish For A Living)

Jmo1685

Hey guys and gals,

So like the title says, I fish for a living. This past year I worked for the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) doing Ontario Stream Assessment Protocol (OSAP) This means everyday I was lucky enough to electrofish some of the tribs in the GTA. This year we fished the Rouge, Carruthers and Duffins Creek. I processed (weighed, measured length and released) probably over 2,000 fish this past year, ranging from Fathead Minnows in just about every site, all the way to large, gorgeous Brook Trout in the Upper Duffins Watershed. Unfortunately, because I was so busy processing the fish, getting pictures was a difficult task, however, I have some pictures so I don't disappoint...

In the fall, I was asked to assist with running the Salmon Weir in Duffins Creek... Now before i go on, I want to make one thing clear:

IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE WEIR, DO NOT BASH ME OR THIS POST ON HERE... I have received mixed mixed feedback when i mentioned I've worked on this project (90% positive, 10% negative) and just want to share my experience here with you guys...

Anyways, the TRCA is contracted out by the MNR to run the weir to count how many Atlantic Salmon return up the creek to spawn every year. This year we set a record with size, with a 10 pound male and a 10 pound female coming up to spawn. There were a total of 8-10 caught this year (Can'y remember the actual total). There were also some Coho's and Brown Trout that came up during the month of September when the weir was in operation. Anyways, here are some pics of some Salmon caught !

The 1st salmon of 2015 ! Nice Little Chinook

photo photo 2_zpsstq6olf5.jpg

My Girlfriend came out for a weekend to help us... She was estatic !  photo photo 4_zpsa6nydhhv.jpg

Last day of the weirs operation, this nice Brown Trout came up river !  photo photo 5_zpsjklgnh9g.jpg