Table Fare Of Niagara Trout

YakFisher

I was hoping to get a few opinions from those of you experienced in this. I was thinking of maybe keeping one or two this season and I wanted to know what people thought of the taste, chemical concentration, etc of the trout in Niagara.

I have been strictly catch and release around here, so I have zero experience. Thanks

I asked my doctor about eating salmon or trout from L.Ont. & he said , treat yourself & don't worry about chems. Most of our food has chemicals added . But I would caution women & young kids to eat these fish in lesser amounts . I am looking to get a few trout , browns & bows for the smoker . Last year my neighbour smoked a bow about 8 lbs. to share with me , and it was excellent .

Most of the contaminants are concentrated in the fat, i.e. the belly meat and a thin layer under the skin. Eliminate them and the darkline (lateral line) and you should eliminate over 80% of the contaminants. Children and women of childbearing age are cautioned to eat no more than one meal a month. Of course if you smoke two packs of cigarettes a day, go ahead and enjoy all you want. You don't have to worry about the contaminants.

go for it, from what i hear since they are cold water fish it makes them better to eat then say a bass just health wise. id say if your keeping one or two here and there it really wont do any harm,

Kinda true ... You really don't want a laker! Probably have enough mercury in them to turn ya into a thermometer! or the larger fish ... It seems the 5 to 8 pound range is most of the keepers

Follow the guide to eating sport fish and you should be fine.

I usually keep fish from the spring and fall, no reason other than I really like trout/salmon and perch. I will keep summer fish if deep hooked or if they can't be released.