Any Electricians In The House?

DaveC

Just curious, what a typical replacement of the plastic conduit from driveway to hydro meter cost. Hit that cheap plastic grey pipe elbow with my snow blower and broke the elbow. Electrical bandits charged me $940.00 and were in and out in 3 hours..all that included was the grey plastic pipe and the elbow and a sleeve into the house. CROOKS !!!

Haha...yeh i feel abused. I called hydro figuring they might fix it. What they did do was drop by 2days later to see if i had been in contact with an electrician. I guess otherwise if not, or i attempted a micky mouse repair they probably have the right to shut my power off if its not safe. I just figured that the bill was way high. I know one contractor who wont ever step foot on my property. Being a mechanic, i think oil changes for electricians and dentists should be about $400 lol.

That's what i am apprenticing in, doing mostly industrial though, hard to tell, if the cable was damaged and had to be replaced as well as the conduit, 3 hours labor for 2 guys @100.00/hr per guy, doesn't seem too far off the mark if that's the case, hard to tell without seeing it.

That's what i am apprenticing in, doing mostly industrial though, hard to tell, if the cable was damaged and had to be replaced as well as the conduit, 3 hours labor for 2 guys @100.00/hr per guy, doesn't seem too far off the mark if that's the case, hard to tell without seeing it.

No man, no cable. the only thing broken was the plastic elbow at the bottom where it goes into the house. Problem is hydro had to remove the meter, the price included a permit @ $124. They broke the meter base bolt doing the job. But once the meter was off just replaced the grey plastic conduit where it elbows into the house up to the meter. They were in and out in 3 hrs job done. The job was well done...no complaints about that. Oh well....paid the bill regardless. I just thought that the $550 labour alone was pretty steep.