Anyone Trying Anything New This Year ?

Jmo1685

Hey Guys,

So with the weather about to get warmer in a few weeks, I've been creating some new packbaaits / method feeder baits for this upcoming season. I'm also preparing a batch of homemade pop-ups to use as well. How about the rest of you guys ? Trying anything new this season ? Or sticking to tried and true methods ?

I started out with peaches & creme in the early season , but when the gobies came to the table I used boiled maize on the hair , flavored with pineapple or vanilla . Also used the pack baits with corn puffs with a little help from my friend Mr.Hemp ....a seedy old character. I have a few new smelly things to try this year , but hopefully filet mignon to them .

I'm just getting into carping this year having never been able to land a brute it's my goal this year. Been doing a ton of research and going to try a whole bunch of new things while keeping record of what works where and when etc. We shall see how it goes. Pretty excited not going to lie.

For me, it won't be so much about trying new baits or presentations, but trying new venues.

I'm afraid I get stuck visiting my same Hamilton Harbour haunts year after year, so this year I'd like to travel to some new and different swims.

Over the winter, I did some traveling on Google Maps( very cheap on gas ), took some notes and made a few phone calls. The result is a small collection of new waters to explore that hold promise. Although there are carp present, these aren't 'big fish' waters( I'll stick to Hammy Harbour for that ), but it's all about some fresh scenery and a bent rod for me.

Good luck to all!

I'm thinking i will try the lower grand river hit all the marshes they hold some big carp there as the water gets warmer i wan't to take the boat and start looking for them

i have seen some monsters in there in the fall duck hunting it's a must to get in there for me so i guess i will be changing things up a bit as far as new waters to fish