Carp Fishing Made Easy

niagarangler89

Nothing gets your adrenaline pumping like being awakened from a daydream by the sound of your drag screaming and looking over to see your rod bent over to the water. You instantly know you have a carp on the end of your line. The only question you now have left to answer is, “How big is it?, and answering that question is usually no easy feat.

As I mentioned a while back, I wanted to do a fairly descriptive post on the two simple, yet effective rigs I use when carp fishing; breadballs and corn on a hair-rig. My apologies for the wait, but I wanted to make sure the report was thorough, as well as easy to understand and to replicate.

I would like to start off by saying that I am by no means an expert carp angler, and there are many more experienced members than myself at carping. I’m still a relatively new angler, but I’ve had a fair bit of success at carpin’ and wanted to share that with our members in hopes of getting you into some more fish!

So without further ado, here is a post that will hopefully help you catch carp more consistently!

The Gear:

I definitely do not use the most ideal rod and reel combo for targeting carp, however it works, and it’s cheap! So this post is meant for those of you who aren’t able to or don’t want to break the bank to get a new rod and reel for each species of fish you target.

Here’s the list of the various components to my carp fishing setup:

-7ft Medium Power/Fast Action Spinning Rod

-Front Drag Spinning Reel

-15lb Braided Mainline

-1/2 – 1 oz sliding (egg) sinker

-Plastic Bead

-Size 8 Ball Bearing or Barrel Swivel

-15lb Fluorocarbon Leadline

-Size 1 – 1/O Octopus Hook or Baitholder Hook

-Net

-Canned Corn/Jello

-Bread