Port Dalhousie Piers

Snags

Doubtful that anyone reads this or cares ...

But down there this morning and there was a sign on the "fencing" that has indicated there is a website for feedback.

https://portpiers.com/

It is run by the city of St Catharines.

There is some of the photos of the "side scans" done on the piers to show the deterioration that has occurred.  Some interesting information definitely available on the site.

Me thinks they over estimated the costs to fix to deter spending the money & will eventually break them up into a rock berm . On the lake side of both piers the water is shallow with a sand bottom . the harbour is approx.15' deep average which would allow the piers to sink on that side . If they fix the harbour side only , the costs would be much less . I'm no engineer , but some , like scientists can be "persuaded" to doctor up their estimates .

....and yep , I'm a "man made" global warming denier ....maybe a little anti - estab. as well ....:crazy:

3 hours ago, I'm_A_Drifter said:

How much of a safety risk is there for foot traffic, really? 

All you need is someone to fell because things are uneven and "not safe".  At the same time, if some of the areas are as unstable as some of the side scans show ... a heavy storm could easily shift things enough that a little weight on a spot and things could tip.  Chances of it happening?  Nil to rare.  If it did happen?  Lawyers would be very quick to get rich.

Plenty of areas are fenced off because of the threat of being sued should someone fail to be responsible for their actions.

Article by Doug Herod today .....not putting a lot of hope the piers will be walked on again .

I was there today checking out the place , started raining so went to get a coffee at Timmies ....GONE !  No more coffee's at Port Dal-loosie .

http://www.stcatharinesstandard.ca/2017/11/01/herod-st-catharines-starts-voyage-into-choppy-waters

Sad situation that.