Tick Spray - $Cheap - Effective

With mild winter ticks will likely  be active early this season. Here is a cheap homemade spray that in my opinion is safe for humans and dogs. 
*Avoid contact with face and eyes.

Dollar Store: 1 litre spray bottles $3

Rexall: yellow Rexall brand Listerine mouth wash 

mix 9:1 ratio 9 parts yellow listerine to 1 part tap water

shake and spray lightly on base layers (socks, under layers…especially inside boot or shoe tongues and around waist line), tuck socks into pant legs, spray liberally onto all outer garment layers, if Turkey hunting..I also spray inside of hoodies and pant waistline and also outside of all gear including face masks…hat, back packs, boots including bottoms, decoy bags, cushion,  I carry a bottle with me to freshen up in the forest after a few hours. I have been using this for 2 years and it has been most effective! I still bring  2 large garbage bags (1 to put boots into and other to put clothes into for transport at end of hike). Still need to check for ticks after outings…and put clothes into dryer on high for 30 min to kill any live ticks. I find these little army tanks can survive dormant for days on gear and then find them crawling around in house or other days later.

Can also spray dogs under coat with this spray.

Note: not all ticks carry the bacteria that can cause Lyme disease…but the risk is high in Niagara, and ticks may also transmit other ailments.

I do not use DEET anymore after it took the paint off some of my equipment…in my opinion I do not think it is as safe as this alternative…but that is my preference.

Safe Hiking!

3 hours ago, 10 Pointer said:

With mild winter ticks will likely  be active early this season. Here is a cheap homemade spray that in my opinion is safe for humans and dogs. 
*Avoid contact with face and eyes.

Dollar Store: 1 litre spray bottles $3

Rexall: yellow Rexall brand Listerine mouth wash 

mix 9:1 ratio 9 parts yellow listerine to 1 part tap water